User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Area Maps

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Area Maps

    I've tried using cosmic forge to do some location editing, but for some reason the game isn't installing the Area Maps to my HD, making it impossible to save any changes using CF Location Editor.

    I'm using Win7 x64 if that makes any difference. Any help is appreciated! :-)

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Does anyone know how to fix this? My retail copy of the game did not install the "levels" to my HD, making it impossible to modify using Cosmic Forge. Please help if you can

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    264
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Man, install it into the "C:\games\W8" folder. It should be fine after.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I already tried that and still can't access the area maps using CF Location Editor. It returns a "C:\games\W8\levels\XXXX does not exist" value. I've checked all the folders in the directory, and not a single area map is on my HD. I've uninstalled/installed MANY times to several different locations on my HD and the results never change.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have a EU version of Wizardry 8 1.24 by the way. My thoughts are that the "EU" copy installs differently than the "US" version. If that's the case, then I truly am screwed on this lol

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    264
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There might be a way.
    Try figuring out where the data files are. Look for LEVELS.SLF on your hard drives.
    I was always curious how that works...
    Also can you try figuring out if there is a W8 registry value pointing to that folder?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I found the LEVELS.SLF file, but I have no idea what to do with it.

    In regards to the W8 registry value... I did ctrl+F to 'search' my registry for it and only found values pertaining to Wiz8.EXE and 3Dsetup.EXE

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    264
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I need to know the full path to the 'Levels' folder where the LEVELS.SLF lies.
    What is the full path?

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    c:\program files(x86)\sirtech\wizardry 8\levels\levels.slf

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    264
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So, have you tried to install game into "c:\program files(x86)\sirtech\wizardry 8" folder?
    That will make the data lie in the game's folder.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've tried installing to several different locations including:

    c:\program files(x86)\sirtech\wizardry 8
    c:\games\wizardry 8
    c:\users\XXX\desktop\wizardry 8

    none of the installs had the map files.

  12. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    264
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wait a minute, you just told me that the maps data file lies in this path: "c:\program files(x86)\sirtech\wizardry 8\levels\levels.slf".
    So?
    If you install game at "c:\program files(x86)\sirtech\wizardry 8\", then the files should be where they are.

    Or just f***ing move the data files to the game installation folder and see if the game still works and the editor works as well.

    I've never had this problem. Windows 7 64 bit as well. Though I didn't actually install the game, I've just copied the files along.

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    CURRENTLY it is in the program files directory.

    LAST WEEK it was installed to c:\games AND c:\users\xxx\desktop to see if it would install the level files there, but it did not, so I re-installed it to the default (X86) folder.

    As it stands THERE ARE NO DATA FILES other than the levels.slf file which does me no good when I try to modify the levels using CF. So.... how do I move data files around when they simply DO NOT exist?

    when I try to save changes to the location editor, it pops up a message stating that C:\Program Files (x86)\Sirtech\Wizardry 8\levels\monastery\monastery1.sts.temp DOES NOT EXIST.

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    264
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah, I wonder it Windows somehow redirects the path in certain cases.

    Try the following:
    1. Install the game to "C:\games\W8'. Let's call it the W8PATH. NOTE: Here you can try (I would recommend) to copy the whole existing W8 installation (from where it is now) to the W8PATH instead (save time!).
    2. Makes sure W8PATH has "Data", "Levels", "Patches" and "Dll" folders.
    3. If one of the them is missing then locate them (looking for the files "monsters.dbs", "LEVELS.SLF", "PATCH.001" and "srDD_OpenGL.dll" respectively on you hard drive(s)).
    4. Copy the whole missing folders ("Data", "Levels", "Patches" and "Dll") to the W8PATH.
    5. Delete the whole folders ("Data", "Levels", "Patches" and "Dll") from where you've been copying them.
    6. Make sure the game runs, saves and loads.
    7. Make sure CF runs and edits.

    Let me know how it goes.

  15. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    264
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Forgot to mention (hopefully you've figured out it yourself): when you perform the steps in the post above, make sure you run the W8.exe in the W8PATH folder, not a link on your desktop, that will try to launch the installed game.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •