User Tag List

Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: Benefits of IE10 over IE9 for Windows 7 users?

  1. #1
    Member Seffrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14,724
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    15
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Benefits of IE10 over IE9 for Windows 7 users?

    I know most here prefer Firefox, but for those of us who stick with IE does anyone have experience of IE10 and is it recommended over IE9 for Windows 7?

  2. #2
    Resident Lagomorph Abuser Rabbitslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    7,196
    Likes (Given)
    380
    Likes (Received)
    37
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    none at all?
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)

  3. #3
    The One and Only Quazimortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    23,997
    Likes (Given)
    300
    Likes (Received)
    17
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Can you really put the words 'benefits' and 'Internet Explorer' in the same sentence?
    "The mind of God we believe is cosmic music, the music of strings resonating through 11 dimensional hyperspace. That is the mind of God." ~ Michio Kaku
    Quote Originally Posted by Onslaught View Post
    Then suddenly... Nipples.

  4. #4
    Resident Lagomorph Abuser Rabbitslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    7,196
    Likes (Given)
    380
    Likes (Received)
    37
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    with FF updating ever frickin day it seems, I might have given IE 10 a shot, but since I don't have metro(whatever the gay $#@! that is) I wont .
    And $#@! Chrome, Google is fast becoming worse than MS ever was IMHO
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)

  5. #5
    Moderator Ravynmagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    32,677
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    IE 10 has Flash built into the browser now, so you won't need to install that as a plugin anymore.
    Improved CSS3 support.
    Improved hardware acceleration.
    And a new feature called Flip Ahead. When you visit a site enough, the browser learns the site and you can push a button on the mouse or something to flip to the next logical page on the website. Example if you are reading a store on a website that has multiple pages, the browser allow you to go to the next page with a button push instead of having to click on the Next Page link.

    I haven't found any reason why you should not upgrade to IE10. Though these new IE10 features may not be important enough to rush out and get IE10 as well.

  6. #6
    Member Palvati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19,656
    Likes (Given)
    67
    Likes (Received)
    44
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quazimortal View Post
    Can you really put the words 'benefits' and 'Internet Explorer' in the same sentence?
    they might have fixed the snail issue that made it usuable on many of the websites, even dell.com

  7. #7
    The One and Only Quazimortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    23,997
    Likes (Given)
    300
    Likes (Received)
    17
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Palvati View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Quazimortal View Post
    Can you really put the words 'benefits' and 'Internet Explorer' in the same sentence?
    they might have fixed the snail issue that made it usuable on many of the websites, even dell.com
    I wouldn't consider bug fixes a benefit personally.
    "The mind of God we believe is cosmic music, the music of strings resonating through 11 dimensional hyperspace. That is the mind of God." ~ Michio Kaku
    Quote Originally Posted by Onslaught View Post
    Then suddenly... Nipples.

  8. #8
    Italicus Rabidus Hep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    32,845
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    63
    Mentioned
    112 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I need a nice DOM browser addon like Firebug. Is there an equivalent for IE?
    I block all signatures. Feel free to ignore mine.

  9. #9
    Member Palvati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19,656
    Likes (Given)
    67
    Likes (Received)
    44
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    just upgraded to IE10, it broke my trendmicro security server.... hopefully i can downgrade

  10. #10
    Member Guttersludge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    7,208
    Likes (Given)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    33
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The last time I used IE it was like version 3 or 4...

    It's been awhile.

  11. #11
    Resident Lagomorph Abuser Rabbitslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    7,196
    Likes (Given)
    380
    Likes (Received)
    37
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you want to run Internet Explorer 10 on your PC, here's what it takes:

    A Windows 8 or Windows RT PC.

    Processor: 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster with support for PAE, NX, and SSE2

    RAM: 1 gigabyte (GB) (32-bit) or 2 GB (64-bit)

    Hard disk space: 16 GB (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)

    Graphics card: Microsoft DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM driver

    Internet access (ISP fees might apply)


    2 gig of RAM required?!?!? No thanks
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)

  12. #12
    Newbie Dresler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,204
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm just sad about what seems to be happening to Chrome. It was working poorly on my home machine after a patch but I eventually fixed that. I can't for the life of me get it to work for more than an hour at a time at work before something crashes with it, which makes it annoying to use evernote.

  13. #13
    Member Palvati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19,656
    Likes (Given)
    67
    Likes (Received)
    44
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    they are trying too many different things with chrome, especially with release of chromebook....

    wru the tiny browser that firefox use to be... hmm maybe I go see if I can still download Netscape

  14. #14
    Destroyer of Worlds Axispipe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    13,804
    Likes (Given)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    9
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: Axispipe

    Default

    eew built in flash? so now the updates on security exploits for flash will be in MS hands for the browser? O_o
    PM me for postcount's ftb Minecraft server whitelisting. more information here.
    INK RIP
    Eve Online 21 day trial
    HTFU <3 CCP

  15. #15
    Member Palvati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19,656
    Likes (Given)
    67
    Likes (Received)
    44
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    just need to go uninstall the update
    Last edited by Palvati; 03-13-2013 at 07:49 AM.

  16. #16
    Moderator Ravynmagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    32,677
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbitslayer View Post
    2 gig of RAM required?!?!? No thanks
    Those are the minimum requirements to run Windows 8. So Microsoft recommends your computer have 2GB of RAM with Windows 8 64 bit, whether you are running IE10 or Chrome or Safari or Lynx.

  17. #17
    Member Seffrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14,724
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    15
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbitslayer View Post
    If you want to run Internet Explorer 10 on your PC, here's what it takes:

    A Windows 8 or Windows RT PC.
    Are you saying that's what is recommended? It's available this week as part of the standard monthly updates for Windows 7 machines.

    Thanks for the various comments, especially Ravyn's opening explanation. It doesn't sound like there's much point in my installing it.

    Ravyn, do you know what happens to the existing Flash installation if you install IE10? Does that need to be uninstalled, or does it sit alongside the IE10 version?

  18. #18
    Moderator Ravynmagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    32,677
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you already have Flash installed, it doesn't need to be removed. It'll be there available for other browsers that don't have Flash built in.

  19. #19
    Member Seffrid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14,724
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    15
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Ravyn.

    It looks from the IE10 forum as if quite a lot of people are having trouble getting the Windows 7 IE10 upgrade working. I've hidden the update for now and will see how things go. I have no concerns with IE9 anyway, it does everything I want.

  20. #20
    Resident Lagomorph Abuser Rabbitslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    7,196
    Likes (Given)
    380
    Likes (Received)
    37
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravynmagi View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbitslayer View Post
    2 gig of RAM required?!?!? No thanks
    Those are the minimum requirements to run Windows 8. So Microsoft recommends your computer have 2GB of RAM with Windows 8 64 bit, whether you are running IE10 or Chrome or Safari or Lynx.

    Why is the page called Internet Explorer system requirements then??
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)

  21. #21
    Moderator Ravynmagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    32,677
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbitslayer View Post
    Because the requirements are the same. Internet Explorer will not run without an operating system. It's really the operating system that has those requirements.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...m-requirements

  22. #22
    Resident Lagomorph Abuser Rabbitslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    7,196
    Likes (Given)
    380
    Likes (Received)
    37
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravynmagi View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbitslayer View Post
    Because the requirements are the same. Internet Explorer will not run without an operating system. It's really the operating system that has those requirements.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...m-requirements
    but nothing runs on computer w/out an OS
    but I see what you're saying, guess that 20 gigs of HD space should have given it away they where talking OS reqs, but with the size of games these days, I kind of thought programers just got really, really lazy
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)

  23. #23
    Member Palvati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    19,656
    Likes (Given)
    67
    Likes (Received)
    44
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    With experience of windows 10 installation and uninstallation, now I know that you can actually have windows OS w/out windows explorer. I remember the days when my friend uninstalled internet explorer on his computer, windows OS wouldn't boot up

  24. #24
    Lord of Time Sezyrrith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Gallifrey, Constellation of Kasterborous, 10-0-11-0-0 by 0-2 from Galactic Zero Centre
    Posts
    7,737
    Likes (Given)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    4
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Palvati View Post
    With experience of windows 10 installation and uninstallation, now I know that you can actually have windows OS w/out windows explorer. I remember the days when my friend uninstalled internet explorer on his computer, windows OS wouldn't boot up
    Yep, iexplore.exe was part of a Windows install back in the old days. Hated that crap.

  25. #25
    Reziztance iz Futile Sprawl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    53,935
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    2
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    IE is the best Metro browser, for what it's worth. It does also have the best touch support that I've seen so far.

  26. #26
    Warlock of Words Arc_DT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    12,775
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Axispipe View Post
    eew built in flash? so now the updates on security exploits for flash will be in MS hands for the browser? O_o
    Chrome has Flash built in as well. Chromium is the only browser with ongoing Flash support on Linux as a result of that.

    Generally, if one is using IE, one wants to upgrade to the highest version available for one's OS / Service Pack as soon as possible. The only potential drawback I've seen is when Microsoft quietly changes related functionality, such as disabling the PAC file set in the Internet Options (Proxy Auto Configure, a Javascript file to tell the browser which proxy to use based upon the URL) due to "security reasons." I believe that "improvement" happened with IE8. don't know if they've made any similar changes for IE10.

    (If you're curious, IE can be told to use a PAC file via network policy, but I've never found a policy editor that does jack $#@! for home versions of Windows. So it's pro versions only.)
    .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •